

Vote Centers

No updates required since April 8, 2024

Background

Vote centers, also known as countywide polling places, are an alternative to the traditional model of precinct-based polling places. Vote centers can be more efficient for both voters and election officials. Note: These laws apply to Election Day voting for general elections only. Other states may allow vote centers during early voting or smaller elections.

Scoring

- State requires or allows vote centers, 1 point
- State does not allow vote centers or no applicable law, 0 points

Summary Table

Category	Number	List
State requires or allows vote centers	21 states	Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Hawaii Illinois Indiana Kansas Kentucky Nevada New Mexico North Dakota South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Washington Wyoming
State does not allow vote centers or no applicable law	32 states & D.C.	Alabama Alaska Connecticut Delaware D.C. Florida Georgia



Idaho
lowa
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New York
North Carolina
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
Vermont
Virginia
West Virginia
Wisconsin



State-by-State Sources and More Detail

Alabama (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Alaska (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Arizona (1)

• State allows vote centers (Ariz. Rev. Stat. §16-411).

Arkansas (1)

• State allows vote centers (Ark. Stat. Ann. §7-1-113).

California (1)

• State allows vote centers (<u>Cal. Elec. Code § 4005</u>).

Colorado (1)

• State requires vote centers (Colo. Rev. Stat. §1-5-102.9).

Connecticut (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Delaware (0)

• State has no applicable law.

D.C. (0)

• Has no applicable law.

Florida (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Georgia (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Hawaii (1)

• State allows vote centers (<u>Haw. Rev. Stat. §11-109</u>).



Idaho (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Illinois (1)

• State requires two vote centers in jurisdictions with over 500,000 voters (<u>IL SB 2123</u> (2023)).

Indiana (1)

• State allows vote centers (Ind. Code §3-11-18.1).

Iowa (0)

• State only allows vote centers for city, school, and special elections (<u>lowa Code §49.11</u>).

Kansas (1)

• State allows vote centers (Kan. Stat. Ann. § 25-2701(a)(1)).

Kentucky (1)

• State allows vote centers (KRS 117.066).

Louisiana (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Maine (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Maryland (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Massachusetts (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Michigan (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Minnesota (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Mississippi (0)

• State has no applicable law.



Missouri (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Montana (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Nebraska (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Nevada (1)

• State allows vote centers (Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 293.3072).

New Hampshire (0)

• State has no applicable law.

New Jersey (0)

• State has no applicable law.

New Mexico (1)

• State allows vote centers (N. M. Stat. Ann. §1-3-4).

New York (0)

• State has no applicable law.

North Carolina (0)

• State has no applicable law.

North Dakota (1)

• State allows vote centers (N.D. Cent. Code §16.1-04-02).

Ohio (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Oklahoma (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Oregon (0)

• State has no applicable law.



Pennsylvania (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Rhode Island (0)

• State has no applicable law.

South Carolina (0)

• State has no applicable law.

South Dakota (1)

• State allows vote centers (S.D. Codified Laws §12-14-17).

Tennessee (1)

• State allows vote centers (Tenn. Code Ann. §2-3-301 to §2-3-308)

Texas (1)

• State allows vote centers (<u>Tex. Election Code §43.007</u>).

Utah (1)

• State allows vote centers (<u>Utah Code Ann. §20A-3-701 to §20A-3-703</u>v).

Vermont (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Virginia (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Washington (1)

• State requires vote centers (RCW 29A.40.160).

West Virginia (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Wisconsin (0)

• State has no applicable law.

Wyoming (1)

• State allows vote centers (Wyo. Stat. § 22-1-102).